A Man Outstanding in His Field

080304-allotment200

For most of today’s five hours digging in cold sunshine, the allotment was all mine. Bill wandered up a couple of times to feed the chickens. He also offered to rotovate the top end of my half-allotment, where his chickens have pecked.

I would rather avoid using machinery, but at the time of the offer my back was barking. So, at least I’ll have a fully tilled piece of ground, even if there are still bits of weed root to pick out.

Bill added, with a chuckle, that when I lift my carpet that I will find mice living there. I haven’t seen any mice on the allotments yet. However, I did spot a couple of hawks/kestrels and, as the sun approached the yardarm, a barn owl.

080304-allotment203

The first potato bed is nearly dug. It should be finished tomorrow, weather permitting. At this rate, the earlies should go in by Easter.

080304-allotment196

Meanwhile, the onion and garlic plot has had two digs, a load of home made compost and some of B&Q’s finest peat compost (from sustainable sources).

Alex and I swapped “hellos” as I broke for lunch. He’s gone from two plots to one as part of the Parish Council’s realisation that half of the plots were being tended by a handful of people.

As the Otto the bus driver made his last run up the hill, I called it quits.

080304-allotment204

Despite a physio session at 8am this morning and loads of stretching exercise since, my back is about to seize.

Leave a Reply

