Gardening: old skool

“Glad to see you doing it by the book” commented Bill as he watched Barry and I struggle digging out the confused and coagulated weed roots.

Digging, old skool.

080419-allotment415

Well, as I explained to Eamon yesterday, it’s a modified version of the single dig. Dig a trench; collect the spoil; fill the trench from behind; fill the last trench with your original spoil.

080419-allotment420

Except, in my version, I’m digging out the trench spade-by-spade (actually fork-by-fork) into my barrow and spending several minutes picking out the roots and chopping up the soil. After filling the barrow, the spoil is tipped back in the trench.

080420-allotment425

It’s bloody hard work. But, it could save forever picking out ground elder and doc weeds. And, as I see it, it’s giving the soil some good structure.

080420-allotment426

Digging, old skool.

Compare: some of the neighbours.

080419-allotment419

Blue overalls at number 7: rotovating and mechanical tilling; fake looking soil though you have to admire his horse poo.

080420-allotment424

George, the newcomer: more rotovating by a helper, no less; benefited from the previous tenant’s plastic covering; fake soil, might as well be astroturf; no callouses from digging, no back ache or pins and needles down the arms.

Give me proper, man-powered digging.

Gardening, old skool.

080419-allotment417

Just ask my ‘helper’.

2 Responses to Gardening: old skool

  1. I’m with you on this one. Rotovating is wrong – it’s for farmers not gardeners. Give me back ache and blisters any day!

  2. Christine says:

    Can I have me blackbird back please? And yes all a rotovator does is to chop up the roots and give you twice as many. Oh and it doesn’t remove rusty nails from the soil.

Leave a Reply

