A rose for Mum

080524-rose349

The only digging and planting this weekend was with Dad in Chandler’s Ford, Hants.

After Mum died in March, I suggested to my bro and sis that we plant a rose in her memory. That would make it easier for dad so that he would have a memorial close to him. Otherwise, he would have to travel 100 miles to her grave in Essex. Mum’s buried in Essex as she and Dad were always happiest there. Though he made it to the funeral, as he’s in a wheelchair it is quite an exercise to get him 50 yards out of the nursing home, let alone 100 miles on the M3, M25 and A12.

The rose is second best, but he was very happy to choose a spot and assist me plant it. He helped select a memory stick and the words to be inscribed upon it.

I’d chosen a rose with a nice big yellow, fragrant flower: Graham Thomas. Unfortunately, I’ll probably miss the blooms this year. The buds were ready to burst, so I’ll have to ask my sibs to take a photo for me.

Leave a Reply

