Gewächshaus? Nein danke! :-)

Slight bit of drama from Monday.

As it’s coming to the end of the financial (and holiday) year, I’ve had a few days off and I’m doing the same next week.

Not that the weather was up to much.

It’s been windy. Well, it’s always windy in north Devon.

Thursday was a whiteout. Friday was better although the ground was still icy and not easy to dig. I had to dodge showers on Saturday and Sunday. But, Monday was best despite a brisk breeze.

After half-an-hour of pottering about, I suddenly noticed that the shed on allotment 6 had blown over! It must have happened over night in the gale. Yes, I’m unobservant.

Allotment rules prohibit permanent fixings, so Jim had just placed the wooden shed on a temporary foundation of breeze blocks. Obviously, the weight of garden implements was not enough to hold it down.

The shed was at 45 degrees, resting on a couple of steel drums that Patrick uses to collect water. It was still in one piece though some of the planking had cracked.

Due to my feebleness, I had to wait until Arthur showed up an hour later to put the shed upright. Feeble or not, if I had tried it myself, it might have tipped over the other way.

And, that’s one of the reasons I don’t want a shed or a greenhouse on my allotment.

Leave a Reply

