Golden spike

At 4.17 (BST) this afternoon, my Promontory Point moment arrived.

After two years and two months of on and off hard labour, I stood on the last remaining mound of undug (half) allotment. Claggy: that’s the local description of the ground right now. And, claggy it was; that final fork of virgin land.

Okay, maybe I haven’t crossed the continent. There’s not been a thousand Chinese navvies on my plot. No one has died – slugs, excepted. (Though I’d like to point out that my shoulder is barking like a husky on the Iditarod.)

It’s a golden spike to me.

Leave a Reply

