The dark of the night

There’s a gale howling outside, indicative of my mood. There’s a lot of debris blowing about my head.

There are a few possible interesting projects ahead.

Job security is reasonable. Unlike most public sector bodies, we look in a relatively good position. But, it’s unsettling.

I’m of an age to remember the last era of big cuts in the mid 90s. Back then you could take your pick of leaving parties every Friday. Some were okay: the smart ones moving on to better things.

For others, mostly those retiring early, you could see the fear in their eyes. What exactly were they going to do on Monday morning? Or, more importantly Tuesday morning when the novelty had worn off.

I’ve lost track of just about all my former colleagues who jumped ship. But, I wonder what life was like for them. Financially, most of them fared well as redundancy terms were generous. But, how else did losing the routine of work, the interaction with colleagues affect them?

Was I tempted to jump?

Certainly. I could have taken redundancy at aged 38 with a lump sum worth about a year’s salary. I had some notion ironically of retraining in IT

After weeks of sleepless nights, I opted to hang on in part, perhaps, out of fear of the Tuesday morning and the dark nights.

Morning came. And, the wind died down.

Leave a Reply

